History

As in many other cities in Germany, rugby was also a very popular sport in Offenbach before World War II when Germany still ranked in the top four in Europe. Apart from BSC there were several rugby clubs chasing the "Lederei" TG Offenbach, Rowing Club Udine, Rowing Club Offenbacher and Rowing club Fechenheim. Founded in 1921 by Ludwig Renker (formerly Heidelberger RK) the rugby department at BSC soon became one of the strongest.

After the war rugby at BSC was re-launched in 1948, by Willi Kunz, Rainer Schmitt, Ludwig Backfisch and Heinrich Hense (from 1948 to 1953 Chairman of the BSC). In 1950 BSC played competition rugby for the first time. Our opponents were SC Neuenheim, RG Heidelberg, TV Pforzheim and SC 1880 Frankfurt. Another break occurred between 1952 and 1957, when a large number of players left the club. It was not until 1958 that BSC restarted for the third time due to the efforts of Heinrich Jaegy and Paul Hüls. The team played in the South League against TV 1860 Frankfurt, SC Neunheim, TV Pforzheim and Stuttgart. In 1961 an International match between Germany and Belgium took place on the BSC ground and in 1964 the cup final was also played on the beautiful ground of BSC Offenbach. Sadly things again went downhill with BSC in the mid-1960s but in 1967 we were successful again under Heinrich Jaegy - a renewed "fourth revival".

Soon enough great moments again came to BSC Rugby and in the golden era of the 70s and 80s BSC became South German Champions in 1975. In 1980 past DRV president, Ian Rawcliffe became coach. Under Ian’s fine leadership BSC was Hessenmeister in 82, 84 and 85, additionally in 83 and 85 the team reached the League Cup semi-finals but the leap into the next division was sadly unattainable, missing promotion to the Bundesliga on both occasions.

In 1989, Dominique Arnault took over as coach and the team qualified as Hessenmeister for the qualifying round of the Bundesliga Group South. From 1990 to 1994 with coaches Ian Stuart, Dominique Arnault and Wolfgang Bratschke BSC ran the gauntlet of rugby challenges: winning various qualifying rounds to the Bundesliga, various preliminary rounds of the Bundesliga and finally the qualification for the Second Bundesliga, it was one of our most successful years: The 94 team was coached by the Dominique Arnault and Wolfgang Bratschke duo and became League Cup winners, South German Cup winners and was promoted to the second Bundesliga. Due to the departure of some top performers to Heidelberg clubs, by 1997 the team were no longer able to hold the their place in the division, and retired voluntarily into the Regional league.

In 1998, Bruno Vrga was appointed as coach; -the fifth revival had begun. Successes came fast with the Croatian input and Vrga took the team to the first league within three years. In 2001 BSC reached the semi-finals of the DRV Cup. Despite some good games and the unanimous opinion that BSC enriched the First League, we unfortunately had to say goodbye to the long sort after German league standing after just one season. In the second division South, the team won the 2003 Championship title but lost the promotion game 22-14 to Germania List. A second chance for promotion was offered in the relegation match but that too was lost: this time in extra time to Berlin RC 32-46 after drawing 26-26 in regular time. In the season 2003/2004 under the South African Prof. Dr. med. Albert van Niekerk BSC was once again under attack. Bruno Vrga was no longer available as a trainer for reasons of time, but remained at BSC as a sporting director, and is today a valued and active sponsor.

In the current season 2017/18, BSC rugby is operating two men's teams, one in the regional league and the other in the third Bundesliga. With new sponsors and New Zealand’s winning coach Lofty Stevenson, the team has made an unbeaten start to the season, winning all Third League matches in the autumn. The focus for a successful future for the BSC lies in planning and administration so that above all in the expansion and strengthening of the club, youth work holds the major emphasis for our long-term development. Worth mentioning here is the club’s old men’s team, the "Old Blackouts", who train regularly irregular, have already competed successfully at numerous international tournaments. Players from all eras since the 80s participate in this proud team, some of whom travel from abroad to join the activities as all hold the “never say die” Offenbach spirit, close to their hearts.

BSC Rugby is striving to become a visionary, cosmopolitan club, wiser for it’s flamboyant history and focused for today and the long term on “leading with the beautiful;” the beauty is in the youth and in the free expression of the individual that allows “heavens game”, where each man, women and child depends totally on the input and growth of each other to be played and enjoyed with passion.

Historie

Wie in vielen anderen Städten in Deutschland war Rugby auch in Offenbach vor dem zweiten Weltkrieg ein sehr populärer Sport und Deutschland spielte damals noch auf Weltniveau. Außer beim BSC jagte man zu dieser Zeit auch noch bei der TG Offenbach, dem Ruderverein Udine, dem Offenbacher Ruderverein und dem Ruderverein Fechenheim dem "Lederei" hinterher. Die 1921 von Ludwig Renker (zuvor Heidelberger RK) gegründete Rugbyabteilung wurde alsbald eine der stärksten des BSC.

Nach dem Krieg wurde die Rugbyabteilung 1948 von Willi Kunz, Dr. Rainer Schmitt, Ludwig Backfisch und Heinrich Hense (von 1948 bis 1953 Vorsitzender des BSC) wieder ins Leben gerufen. 1950 spielte der BSC zum ersten Mal in der Verbandsrunde. Gegner waren damals der SC Neuenheim, die RG Heidelberg, der TV Pforzheim und der SC 80 Frankfurt. Ein Bruch erfolgte in den Jahren 1952-1957, als etliche Spieler den Verein verließen. Erst 1958 erhielt der BSC unter Heinrich Jaegy und Paul Hüls wieder einen Aufschwung. Die Mannschaft spielte in der Südliga mit dem TV 1860 Frankfurt, dem SC Neunheim, dem TV Pforzheim und Stuttgart. 1961 fand auf dem Sportgelände des BSC ein Länderspiel der deutschen Nationalmannschaft gegen Belgien und 1964 das Pokalendspiel statt. Sportlich ging es mit dem BSC Mitte der 60er Jahre jedoch bergab. Erst 1967 gelang - abermals unter Heinrich Jaegy - eine erneute „Wiederbelebung“.

In den goldenen 70er und 80er Jahren wurde der BSC Rugby 1975 Süddeutscher Meister, 1980 übernahm dann der jetzige DRV-Präsident, Ian Rawcliffe, das Traineramt. Unter seiner Führung wurde der BSC in den Spielzeiten 81/82, 83/84 und 84/85 Hessenmeister. Zudem erreichte die Mannschaft 1983 und in der Saison 1984/1985 das Ligapokal-Halbfinale. Der Sprung ins Oberhaus blieb der Mannschaft allerdings verwehrt, sie scheiterte jeweils in den Aufstiegsspielen zur Bundesliga.

Im Jahr 1989 übernahm Dominique Arnault das Traineramt und die Mannschaft qualifizierte sich als Hessenmeister für die Qualifikationsrunde zur Bundesliga Gruppe Süd. Von 1990 bis 1994 durchlief der BSC unter den Trainern Ian Stuart, Dominique Arnault und Wolfgang Bratschke die verschiedenen Qualifikationsrunden zur Bundesliga, verschiedene Vorrunden der Bundesliga und schließlich die Qualifikation zur Zweiten Bundesliga. 1994 war eines der erfolgreichsten Jahre: Die Mannschaft wurde unter dem Trainerduo Dominique Arnault/Wolfgang Bratschke Ligapokalsieger, Süddeutscher Pokalsieger und stieg in die Zweite Bundesliga auf. Durch den Abgang einiger Leistungsträger nach Heidelberg sahen sich die Verantwortlichen 1997 allerdings nicht mehr in der Lage, die Klasse zu halten, und der BSC zog sich freiwillig in die Regionalliga zurück.

1998 wurde Bruno Vrga neuer Trainer, und mit dem Kroaten kam der Erfolg zurück. Vrga stieg mit unserer "Ersten" innerhalb von drei Jahren in die Erste Liga auf (2001) und erreichte im gleichen Jahr das Halbfinale des DRV-Pokals. Trotz einiger guter Spiele und der einhelligen Meinung, dass der BSC eine Bereicherung für die Erste Liga sei, mussten wir uns leider nach einem nur einjährigen Gastspiel wieder aus der höchsten deutschen Spielklasse verabschieden. In der Zweiten Liga Süd wurde die Mannschaft in der Saison 2002/2003 auf Anhieb Meister, verlor aber das Aufstiegsspiel gegen Germania List (14:22). Eine zweite Chance zum Aufstieg bot sich in der Relegation. Die Partie gegen den Berliner RC wurde aber mit 32:46 (26:26) nach Verlängerung verloren. In der Saison 2003/2004 sollte nun unter dem Südafrikaner Prof. Dr. Albert van Niekerk erneut der Aufstieg in Angriff genommen werden. Bruno Vrga stand aus zeitlichen Gründen nicht mehr als Trainer zur Verfügung, blieb dem BSC aber als sportlicher Leiter erhalten.

In der aktuellen Saison 2017/18 stellt der BSC Rugby zwei Herrenmannschaften, in der Regionalliga sowie der dritten Bundesliga. Mit neuen Sponsoren und unter dem Neuseeländischen Erfolgscoach Lofty Stevenson hat das Team einen guten Start in die Saison hingelegt und gewann die ersten zwei Spiele in der dritten Liga. Der Focus für eine erfolgreiche Zukunft des BSC liegt vor allem im Ausbau und der Stärkung der Jugendarbeit. Zu erwähnen ist auch das Team der alten Herren, die "Old Blackouts", die regelmäßig trainieren und bereits zahlreiche Turniere erfolgreich bestritten haben. In diesem Team finden sich Spieler aus allen Epochen seit den 80er Jahren, wobei einige für die gemeinsamen Aktivitäten teilweise sogar aus dem Ausland anreisen.

Den BSC Rugby zeichnet vor allem ein weltoffener, toleranter, humorvoller sowie fokussierter Teamspirit aus - und das schon seit langer Zeit und sicher auch noch weit in die Zukunft hinein.